“…easier for students to develop professionally and turn their majors into career paths.”

Michael J. Mothershed is a Class of 2015 graduate in Political Science. He’s sharing past experiences and successes with us here at Career Services. 

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAN6AAAAJGQ0NmZmYmZkLWU0ZGUtNDY5Ni04MmI4LWQ5ZmEyZWNjMWE3ZQ

Michael J. Mothershed – Class of 2015

SDSU CS: How has Career Services aided you throughout your school years?

MICHAEL: Career Services has provided me with valuable information through their workshops, information sessions, and career fairs. I have learned how to write a résumé, network with professionals, dress appropriately and professionally for events, and have developed the skills to create a one minute elevator speech.

SDSU CS: What services have you used at Career Services, including assessments, mock interviews, career counseling, job listings, on campus interviewing or others?

MICHAEL: The services I primarily used were the workshops, particularly the résumé writing and job search workshops. The staff at Career Services gave me more insight into what employers were looking for in a résumé, and I learned ways in which to make my résumé stand out. I also spent a great deal of time on Aztec Career Connection looking at job listings. I also utilized the Big Interview function, and I watched the video lessons that were aimed to successfully prepare me for interviews.

SDSU CS: How would you evaluate the impact of SDSU CS?

MICHAEL: Career Services has made it so much easier for students to develop professionally and turn their majors into career paths. They have all the resources and materials you need, plus a staff that is devoted to helping you find your career path.

SDSU CS: Has SDSU CS helped you prepare for entering the job market?

MICHAEL: Yes it has. The biggest advantage I have is that not only has Career Services given me more insight through its information sessions and workshops concerning what employers look for in a candidate, I was also able to practice and prepare for applications and interviews by using the knowledge I gained. I have been successful in many interviews because I utilized the resources that Career Services made available to me.

To look for upcoming events, job postings, and access to tools such as the Big Interview, visit us here: http://goo.gl/BDOPO0

Leave a Reply

