Aztec Mentor Program: Alumnus Highlights

Meet Allen Sliwa, Class of 2004, currently works in the Sports Marketing department for ESPNLA. He is responsible for generating revenue for radio broadcasts, specifically for the Los Angeles Lakers, the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, and the USC football program. Allen Sliwa is just one of many SDSU Alums that will mentor current SDSU Students this Spring in the Aztec Mentor Program.

 

The Aztec Mentor Program is currently accepting applications! Deadline to apply is Friday February 13th. 
Be sure to apply ASAP! Apply Now
Allen Sliwa - Sport Marketing, ESPN LA

Allen Sliwa – Sport Marketing, ESPN LA

We asked Allen about his career, and how his experiences will benefit his fellow Aztecs:

SDSU Career Services: What motivates you to be a mentor for the Aztec Mentor Program?

Allen Sliwa: I’m an alumnus of San Diego State and would like to help where I can. I feel my path of how I got to where I am can be beneficial to share with current students. When I was a student, I could have used advice, tips, etc., on how to properly prepare for life after college. I feel it’s my duty to give back, especially to students from San Diego State University.

SDSUCS: What industry do you work in and what is your job?

AS: I work in the Sports Media Industry in Los Angeles for ESPN. My job is to generate revenue through sponsorship sales which includes our Radio and Digital Division for Southern California. I am responsible for selling our Los Angeles Lakers, USC Football Trojans & Anaheim Angels Radio broadcasts. In addition, our local sports talk shows on 710AM and our local website, ESPNLA.com. My day to day is on the ‘Business’ side of the industry.

SDSUCS: What is the best part of your job?

AS: I work in the sports industry for ESPN and the Lakers radio broadcast; that alone is the best part of my job. I grew up a Lakers fan and always wanted to be a part of the ‘sports industry’ and have now spent the better half of 10 years in the business. There are also a lot of perks which include hosting clients at Lakers and USC games, etc.; those are always fun. I also am prideful when I bring in a new account that’s never been a part of ESPN. I enjoy that the company depends on people in my position to generate the revenue.

SDSUCS: What qualities do you think a mentee should have?

AS: DRIVE. I think it’s the most important tool. A mentee needs to have something that drives them to succeed. Does not matter what it is, but it has to be something they are passionate about. Anyone can get a 9-5 gig, but a job that will motivate you to ‘excellence’ is the challenge. Do not settle; settling is the easy way out. A job that challenges the mind that one genuinely enjoys is more valuable than any dollar amount can provide. In addition, if you’re the ‘best’ at your job because you ‘love’ it, money will follow.

Leave a Reply

