Aztec Mentor Program Student Highlight

We at SDSU Career Services would like to introduce you to Ryan Beal. Ryan participated in the Aztec Mentor Program this past semester. We caught up with Ryan to learn more about the experience he had being mentored by an SDSU Alum.

Remember, the Aztec Mentor Program begins accepting applications on Tuesday, January 20th!  visit amp.sdsu.edu for more information.

Ryan Beal

Ryan Beal, Aztec Mentor Program participant

SDSU CS: Why did you want to be a part of the Aztec Mentor Program?

Ryan Beal:  I wanted to be a part of AMP because of the opportunity to learn from a professional in the field I aspire to be a part of. I hoped the experience and guidance from my mentor would give me a better understanding of what the everyday work environment is like.

SDSU CS: Who was your Mentor and what field did they work in and for what company?

Ryan Beal: My mentor was Megan Rozo. Megan works in marketing and she is the Managing Director at Internet Marketing Inc.

SDSU CS: What is your career objective?

Ryan Beal: I would like to become a Marketing Manager and/or Creative Director

SDSU CS: In what ways did your mentor assist you in your career development?

Ryan Beal: Megan assisted me with editing my resume, she allowed me to sit in on presentations and meetings, and also gave me advice regarding not only my professional aspirations, but my academic goals.

SDSU CS: What was the number one benefit of participating in the Aztec Mentor Program?

Ryan Beal: The number one benefit of participating in the AMP program was the real world experience. Megan was open and honest about all of my questions, thus allowing me to hone in on what type of career I would like in the future. Not only was I able to learn about the responsibilities regarding her position, but I also received a well-rounded look into how each employee plays a part of the success of the company.

SDSU CS: Would you recommend AMP to fellow SDSU Juniors, seniors and graduate students and why?

Ryan Beal: I would definitely recommend AMP to any and everyone! The valuable experience you gain from having a mentor better prepares you for the real world, allows you to network with professionals in your field, and learn from someone who has already taken the steps to get to where you aspire to be.

Leave a Reply

