Holiday time at Career Services

The Holidays are here again and we thought that we would introduce you to a few more of our wonderful staff  and have them share some of their favorite holiday memories with you. These great people are part of a team that is here to empower SDSU Students & Alumni to find their dream careers.

 

SDSU CS: What is your role in Career Services and how do you support student’s career development?

FullSizeRender

Renee Swatzell, Department Support Coordinator

Renee: I am the Department Support coordinator which means I handle everything from staff payroll all the way down to getting things fixed around the department. I am the lead staff member for the Front Desk which is the first point of contact for students. I answer any questions students and alumni may have about eligibility as well as solve any miscellaneous issues that may arise so that students can access the Career Development resources they need. 

SDSU CS: What is your favorite Holiday memory at Career Services?

Renee: My favorite holiday memory at Career Services happened during our second annual bake-off which had staff go head to head with their best desserts and be judged by department student assistants. I won second place with flour-less chocolate cake!

FullSizeRender (1)

Bobbie Gray, Associate Director, Career Services

SDSU CS: What is your role in Career Services and how do you support student’s career development? 

Bobbie: I see myself as a liaison between employers and students. I make sure employers know how wonderful and talented our students are so they will offer internship and job opportunities. I also ensure that students know about the resources available in career services & the many opportunities offered by employers.

SDSU CS: What is your favorite Holiday memory?

Bobbie: My favorite holiday memory involves my children and my husband. I remember I would try to get my children to fall asleep on Christmas Eve so that my husband (dressed as Santa) could attempt to tip-toe quietly and deliver presents under the tree.

tinagov

Tina Gov, Career Counselor

SDSU CS: What is your role in Career Services and how do you support student’s career development?

Tina: I am a Career Counselor in Career services which means I meet one-on-one with students to assist in their career development. I help students explore occupations and majors, enhance their resumes for internship and full-time employment opportunities as well as prepare for graduate & professional schools. I also conduct workshops for students on resumes, job search and networking.

SDSU CS: What is your favorite Holiday memory?

Tina: My favorite holiday memory would have to be me returning home for Christmas after being away from home for my first semester in college. I was so happy to see my family and my two dogs Missie and Porkchop. 

rosamoreno

Rosa Elena Moreno Associate Director Career Services

SDSU CS: What is your role in Career Services and how do you support student’s career development?

Rosa: I oversee the career counselors in Career Services. I ensure that Career Services provide services to prepare students and alumni with necessary career planning and strategies so that they can be successful in their chosen career path. 

SDSU CS: What is your favorite Holiday memory?

Rosa: My favorite holiday memory happened when I was a little girl. I remember waking up on Christmas morning and the house had that Christmas tree smell mixed with banuelos and tamales. I was in my pajamas and pigtails, I opened my presents and found that my mom, dad and grandma had pulled their resources together and bought me a Chatty Cathy doll. I pulled  Chatty Cathy’s string and she would be chatty!

Leave a Reply

