Entertainment and Media Campus Conversation Highlights: Ena Newell

Ena Newell is the KPBS Director of Production, she has been with KPBS for 16 years.

SDSU Career Services: As an employer of SDSU interns and/or alumni, what are the strengths of SDSU interns/graduates?

The strengths of SDSU interns/graduates are that they have great enthusiasm for the industry and are able to absorb the production processes quickly. They are able to learn in a hands on environment and use to further their career in the entertainment field.

What benefit do you get from employing them?

We are able to have talented people filling our many roles and positions here at the station. It is a pleasure to have people that are willing to learn and be part of our team. We have such a great deal of production going on, we couldn’t do it without them.

What keeps you hiring SDSU interns/graduates?

We keep hiring SDSU interns/graduates because of the excellent track record of profound skills and knowledge they provide. They have a strong will to learn and are an asset to our team of employees.

SDSU CS: What is your academic background?

I am an SDSU graduate. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Dramatic Arts.

SDSU CS: Please give me a brief explanation of your personal work journey.

My background is diverse and unique. Early in my career I worked for the Old Globe Theatre in Balboa Park in wardrobe and props. Locally, I also worked for La Jolla Playhouse and the San Diego Repertory Theatre. After that, I worked for various production houses, both large and small in the Los Angeles and San Diego areas.  I spent quite a number of years working within the major sports networks such as ESPN, NBC, ABC, CBS and Univision. I worked various positions such as camera, audio and stage managing for just about every sport. The X Games were one of my favorites. Along with freelancing for sports, I worked on films, predominately in Los Angeles and the surrounding area. I did set dressing and wardrobe on many movies. I joined KPBS in 1998 to help produce law enforcement training videos for a contract KPBS had with the State of California. Later, I became a project manager for this training, then production manager for the station and now I am Director of Production. I have been at KPBS for 16 years.

SDSU CS: What is one piece of advice you would want current SDSU students to know about being an intern?

It is a great way to learn more about the business and build contacts for your career.

SDSU CS: What is one piece of advice would you want current students to know about being in the Entertainment industry?

It is hard work, but if you are passionate about being involved you reap amazing rewards.

SDSU CS: Any additional comments?

A great part of life is about balance.  It is possible to follow your dreams and be a part of this industry. Determination, hard work and keeping a sense of humor will get you where you want to go. It is possible to have a family and a career.

I have three beautiful children and a fantastic career in the Entertainment business.

Leave a Reply

