Thanksgiving at Career Services

It is that time of the year again, and we asked some of our staff what they were thankful for.

Heather LaPerle

Heather LaPerle – Internship Coordinator

SDSU CS: What is your role within Career Services?

I work as Campus Internship Coordinator which means I do a lot of education, advocacy and programming for the SDSU community. My goal is to increase the number of students interning with organizations that help them discover their passion, and grow professionally.

What are you thankful for?

I am thankful for our basketball win over BYU on Monday night! #GoAztecs

Nichola Lawrence - Career Programming and Outreach Counselor

Nichola Lawrence – Career Programming and Outreach Counselor


SDSU CS: What is your role within Career Services? I reach out to diverse student populations such as student athletes, veterans, students living in residence halls and cultural groups. My role is to raise awareness of the services we offer, and prepare students for internship opportunities, and for the working world.

What are you thankful for?

I am thankful for spending time with my family and friends, and having a career that allows me to help SDSU students build their dream career.


Paul Salce - STEM Employment Analyst

Paul Salce – STEM Employment Analyst

SDSU CS: What is your role within Career Services? I help students in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics build their skill-sets in interviewing, resume writing and networking so they can successfully market themselves and get internships and full-time positions.

What are you thankful for?

I am thankful to have the opportunity to work in a fun and interesting environment. Working with students keeps me young!


Kristi Kelly - Career Opportunities Manager

Kristi Kelly – Career Opportunities Manager

SDSU CS: What is your role within Career Services? I connect with alumni nationwide to solicit their participation in the Aztec Mentor Program as well as develop internship and employment opportunities for students.

What are you thankful for?

I am thankful for having a diverse body of colleagues and students, being able to share my expertise with them and also gaining from their expertise.


SDSU CS: What is your role within Career Service? I am a career counselor, the liaison to the College of Business Administration and a coordinator for the Aztec Mentor Program. The Aztec Mentor Program helps students prepare for the professional world by pairing them with SDSU Alumni and other professionals who can guide their career development.

What are you thankful for?

I am thankful for being a part of SDSU and being able to help students everyday.

Leave a Reply

