Meet Hallie and Raquel: June 2013 Student and Alum of the Month

SDSU Career Services’ mission is to provide students and alumni with the opportunities to define, develop and realize their career potential.  We believe that San Diego State University’s students and alumni work diligently to achieve their career goals which is why we now want to start introducing you to some who stand out in our eyes and are truly professionals in their line of work. Every month we’ll feature a current student and alumna/alumnus on our blog to show that SDSU really does create proficient and skilled candidates who can take on anything when they put their mind to it.

Hallie Jacobs

Hallie Jacobs graduated in May 2013 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Communication as well as a B.A. in Journalism with an emphasis in Media Studies.  Hallie answered a few questions to help give us insight on how she got to where she is now. Take a look:

SDSUCS: Did you have a job and/or internship while you were a student?

HJ: I had a lot of jobs and internships as a student.  I interned for Live Nation, Internet Marketing Inc., and a local nonprofit called Jeans4Justice. I also worked as a student assistant at the place I eventually got hired full time at here at Marketing and Communications at SDSU.

SDSUCS: What is your current job title/position?

HJ: New Media Editor

SDSUCS: Is your job in the same field as your major/minor?

HJ: Yes, I majored in both Communications and Media Studies, so this is right up my alley.

SDSUCS:  How did you land this job?

HJ: I worked here for over a year before I got hired so all the people I work with already knew my skills and capabilities.  I was here 20 hours a week and I worked really hard, so I guess they noticed!

SDSUCS: Which do you believe is more important? GPA or experience?

HJ:  Definitely experience. A good GPA is great and really helpful for grad school, but practical experience in the field is invaluable.  An employer would much rather hire someone who held internships and knows how to work in a professional environment than someone who had a 4.0. That being said, getting good grades won’t hurt at all!

SDSUCS: What advice would you give to current students?

HJ: Get lots of internships, try everything and don’t be afraid to apply to anything. So many of my friends just didn’t apply to things because they didn’t think they would get the position.  I applied to a million different places; some places got back to me and some didn’t. But you at least need to try.

SDSUCS: What advice would you give to recent grads?

HJ: Stay positive! Something will come your way.  It may not be your dream job and it may not be the most glamorous position, but you’ll work your way up. Just don’t get discouraged, keep trying.  Also, keep yourself busy.  If you have a job or not, don’t just go home after work.  Make time for friends, join a sports team, have regular weekly happy hours, pick up a new hobby.  College made it easy to stay busy and in touch with people, but now it’s up to you to stay busy!

***

Now that we have heard from an alumna who has worked hard and landed a great job in such a tough market, lets hear from a student who is in the process of  making their goals a reality.

Raquel Martin

Raquel Martin is currently a senior at SDSU studying Journalism and minoring in Political Science.  Raquel has visited us at Career Services frequently in the past year and is going to share what she feels has been beneficial for her in  reaching her career goals.

SDSUCS: How has Career Services aided you throughout your school years?

RM:  Career Services has helped me with so much throughout my years at SDSU. It has helped me find jobs, prepare for interviews using the mock interview service, they have also assisted with my preparation for graduate school.

SDSUCS: What services have you used at Career Services, including assessments, mock interviews, career counseling, job listings, on campus interviewing or others?

RM: I have definitely made use of the services available to me at Career Services.  But I would say that I use mock interviews and career counseling the most.

SDSUCS:  What Career Services events have you attended, such as Career Fairs, panel programs, student club or organizational presentations, class presentations?

RM: I try my best to go to most events hosted by Career Services, but to name a few I attended the Spring Career Fair and went to the etiquette dinner.

SDSUCS: How would you evaluate the impact of SDSU Career Services?

RM: I would say that Career Services has had a very positive impact on me.  I think that Career Services is extremely helpful and a resource that all SDSU students should take advantage of. It has really helped guide me in making the best decisions related to my future career.

SDSUCS:  Are you currently involved in any internships, jobs, or career related activities that are relevant to your major?

RM: Yes.  Currently, I am a freelance writer for the San Diego Voice and Viewpoint and also a staff writer for the Daily Aztec. I have also interned with CALPIRG.

SDSUCS: How did Career Services prepare you for entering the job market after you graduate from SDSU?

RM:  They have provided me with great tips for interviewing, but for me personally, I would say the most valuable thing I have taken from Career Services is advice on how to prepare for applying to graduate schools.

Leave a Reply

